Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

About the Provost Search

As Tufts’ Chief Academic Officer, the Provost and Senior Vice President plays a unique role in advancing our academic mission and strategic vision. Deborah Kochevar, who served as Dean of Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine 2006-18, is currently serving as Tufts’ Provost and Senior Vice President ad interim, following the appointment of former Provost David R. Harris as the 19th President of Union College. A search for the next permanent Provost and Senior Vice President of Tufts University is now underway.

Bárbara Brizuela, Professor of Education and Academic Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, is chairing the Search Committee; she is joined on the committee, listed below, by an outstanding group of faculty, staff, and students and one member of the Tufts Board of Trustees.  The University is being assisted in the search by the executive search firm of Isaacson Miller. The position profile is now available.

Input from members of the university community will be critical to the success of the search and a comment form appears at the bottom of this page. Nominations are encouraged at any time in the search. The committee has been asked to keep its process, and any information about candidates, in strict confidence. 

Search Committee Members

Bárbara Brizuela (Chair)
Professor, Education, and Academic Dean, School of Arts and Sciences

Laurie Baise
Professor and Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering

Doug Brugge
Professor, Public Health and Community Medicine, School of Medicine

Patricia Campbell
Executive Vice President

Robert Cerulli
M.D./Ph.D. candidate, School of Medicine and Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences

Christina Economos
Professor and New Balance Chair, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Roger Fielding
Associate Director and Senior Scientist, Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Center on Aging

Lisa Freeman
Professor, Clinical Sciences, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

Ralph Isberg
Professor, Molecular Biology and Microbiology, School of Medicine and Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences

Eric Johnson
Senior Vice President for University Advancement

Ian Johnstone
Professor, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy

Nadeem Karimbux
Professor, Periodontology, and Associate Dean, School of Dental Medicine

Brian Kavoogian
Trustee and Chair of the Council of the Boards of Advisors

Peter Levine
Lincoln Filene Professor and Associate Dean, Tisch College of Civic Life

Simin Meydani
Vice Provost for Research

Heather Nathans
Gantcher Professor of Judaic Studies and Chair, Drama and Dance, School of Arts and Sciences

Ellen Pinderhughes
Professor, Child Study and Human Development, School of Arts and Sciences

Jianmin Qu
Karol Family Professor, Mechanical Engineering, and Dean, School of Engineering

Lupita Rodriguez A19

Charles Sykes
Professor, Chemistry, School of Arts and Sciences

Apply or Nominate

The university invites nominations and applications for the position of Provost and Senior Vice President.  More information is available in the search announcement.  Individuals wishing to apply or nominate are requested to use the relevant links on the search announcement rather than contacting the Search Committee directly.

Contact the Provost Search Committee

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.