Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

March 4, 2022

Dear members of the Tufts community:

We write today in one voice to express our solidarity with the people of Ukraine and to express our deepest concern for those impacted by the tragedy of war unfolding there. Our hearts go out in particular to the members of our community whose families and loved ones are directly in harm’s way.

Since the invasion began, members of the International Center, our offices of student affairs, and other university and school-based departments have been reaching out individually to our affected community members to offer support, resources, and to assure them that, in their time of great need, they are not alone.

We know, too, that the loss of so many lives and the suffering that we are witnessing every day is taking an emotional toll on our community. We encourage you to reach out to our colleagues in student affairs, mental health services, and the Chaplaincy for support, and – most of all – to take care of each other as our community members always do in trying times such as these.

Because of Tufts’ commitment to civic engagement, our deep and long history of global engagement, and our expertise and scholarship in international affairs across all our schools, our university is playing an important role in helping to shape the world’s understanding of the crisis. Our scholars are working to enhance the public’s knowledge, promote freedom, and preserve the rule of law. In the spirit of that educational mission, the Office of the Provost is now expanding its support of the international Scholars at Risk (SAR) network to include scholars who have been displaced by the conflict in Ukraine or are in danger there, in Russia, or elsewhere due to their views or work.

At a recent Chaplaincy vigil for peace, members of the Tufts community gathered to support each other and those directly affected, and to pray for a swift and peaceful resolution to the crisis. We join in that call for peace, and for the safety and security of all who are suffering.


Anthony P. Monaco, President
Caroline Attardo Genco, Provost and Senior Vice President ad interim
Michael W. Howard, Executive Vice President
Joseph H. Auner, Dean, University College
Sarah L. Booth, Director, Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
Helen W. Boucher, Dean ad interim, School of Medicine
Bárbara M. Brizuela, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
Alastair E. Cribb, Dean, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Dayna L. Cunningham, Dean, Tisch College of Civic Life
James M. Glaser, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
Nate Harrison, Dean ad interim, School of the Museum of Fine Arts
Daniel G. Jay, Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Nadeem Karimbux, Dean, School of Dental Medicine
Jette Knudsen, President, University Faculty Senate; Professor of Policy and International Business, The Fletcher School
Rachel Kyte, Dean, The Fletcher School
Kyongbum Lee, Dean ad interim, School of Engineering
Dariush Mozaffarian, Dean, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy