Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

May 5, 2021

Dear members of the Tufts community,

I am proud to share with you the student and inaugural faculty recipients of the 2021 Presidential Awards for Civic Life. For over twenty years, we have recognized our most inspiring graduate and undergraduate students with the university’s highest honor for civic leadership and service. And this year, I am pleased to also recognize Tufts faculty members for their important contributions through the newly established Presidential Faculty Awards for Civic Life program. I hope you will join me in celebrating this year’s 28 award recipients—ten undergraduate students, fifteen graduate and professional students, and three faculty members—who together represent a diverse array of academic disciplines, lived experiences, and types of service.

Whether grappling with toxic masculinity in the military, helping to negotiate peace in Bosnia, or providing hygiene systems and educational resources to developing nations, this year’s award winners have taken on some of today’s most pressing challenges with integrity, leadership, and humility. I invite you to see the full list of award winners, learn more about their amazing work, and join a special video celebration in their honor on Wednesday, May 12 at 12:00 p.m. EDT on Tisch College’s website.

Many incredible individuals were nominated this year, making the review process particularly challenging. Thank you to Tisch College, to the volunteer review committee, and to all those who took the time to nominate someone. Your nominations are a critical part of this program.

For the second year in a row, COVID-19 has forced us to celebrate these remarkable award winners virtually—a reminder of what a difficult year it has been. But their achievements and the impact they’ve had both on and off campus make me hopeful for the future. Please join me in congratulating all 28 Presidential Award winners, whose service to our communities has helped create a brighter world.

Best wishes,

Tony Monaco

Congratulations to the student recipients of the 2021 Presidential Award for Civic Life:

Undergraduate Students

School of Arts and Sciences

  • Eve Abraha, Biology major, 2021
  • Maria Fong, Studio Art major, 2021
  • Zachary Intrater, Political Science major, 2021
  • Alex Lein, Interdisciplinary Studies major, 2021
  • Issay Matsumoto, History and American Studies double major, 2021
  • Saherish Surani, Psychology major, 2021
  • Sawyer Uecke, Civic Studies and Spanish double major, 2021
  • Lidya Woldeyesus, Political Science and Civic Studies double major, 2022

School of Engineering

  • Hezekiah Branch, Cognitive Brain Sciences major, 2021
  • René LaPointe Jameson, Environmental Engineering major, 2021

Graduate and Professional Students

Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

  • Alexandra Fielding, D.V.M., 2022

Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy

  • Jeremy Gwinn, Ph.D. in International Relations, 2021

Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

  • Allison Wainer, M.S./M.A. in Food and Nutrition Policy and Programs and Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning, 2021

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

  • Chaveso Cook, Ph.D. in Child Study and Human Development, 2021
  • Allison Wainer, M.S./M.A. in Food and Nutrition Policy and Programs and Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning, 2021

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

  • Alyssa DiLeo, Ph.D. in Neuroscience, 2022
  • Sadi Quiñones, Ph.D. in Neuroscience, 2023

School of Engineering, Graduate Programs

  • Zijing ‘Sylvia’ Chen, Ph.D. in Chemical and Biological Engineering, 2023

School of Dental Medicine

  • Tyler Brown, D.M.D., 2021
  • Tyrell Fridie, D.M.D., 2021
  • Omar Harmouche, D.M.D./M.P.H., 2021
  • Chardai Lyde, D.M.D., 2021

School of Medicine

  • Elyssa Anneser, M.P.H. in Epidemiology and Biostatistics, 2021
  • Jonathan de Guzman, M.D., 2021
  • Elizabeth De Jesus, M.D., 2021
  • Omar Harmouche, D.M.D./M.P.H., 2021
  • LeAnn Louis, M.D./M.P.H., 2021

Congratulations to the faculty recipients of the 2021 Presidential Faculty Award for Civic Life:

Outstanding Teaching for Active Citizenship

  • Emily McCobb, Clinical Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Director of the Shelter Medicine Program, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

Outstanding Personal Achievement in Active Citizenship

  • Bruce Hitchner, Department Chair, Classical Studies; Professor of Classical Studies and International Relations; and Director of the Archaeology Program, School of Arts & Sciences

Outstanding Achievement in Civic Research

  • Christina Economos, New Balance Chair in Childhood Nutrition; Chair, Division of Nutrition Intervention, Communication, and Behavior Change; and Co-Founder, Director, and Vice-Chair of ChildObesity180, Gerald J. and Dorothy R. Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy