Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

May 14, 2019

Dear members of the Tufts community,

It is with great pleasure that I announce the recipients of the 2019 Tufts Distinction Awards. In this twelfth year of the program, we will honor 13 individual recipients and 3 teams from across the university. In addition, we are proud to announce the recipient of the inaugural David J. Kahle Award. You will find a complete list of the winners below. This list, as well as the full list of this year’s nominees, is also available on the Distinction Awards website. Please join me in congratulating all the Distinction and David J. Kahle award winners, whose contributions make Tufts an exceptional place to work and learn.

I invite you to join me in recognizing these outstanding individuals and teams at the awards ceremony on Thursday, June 6, at 11:00 a.m. The 2019 ceremony will be held in the Behrakis Auditorium, located at 150 Harrison Avenue on the Boston Health Sciences campus. A light buffet luncheon will follow the ceremony.

As in past years, we will offer bus service from the Grafton and Medford/Somerville campuses to the Boston Health Sciences campus on the day of the ceremony. If you would like to reserve a seat for transportation to and from the ceremony, please RSVP by Friday, May 31. Details about transportation are available at:

The Distinction Awards provide a unique occasion to recognize those individuals and teams who exemplify particularly noteworthy dedication, talent, and innovation. These awards highlight the excellence our colleagues invest in their work at Tufts, enriching our entire community.

This year, the Selection Committee received nearly 190 nominations for 96 unique individuals and 13 teams, comprising staff and faculty from across our four campuses. I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to the Committee for their commitment to the program and for their thoughtful selection of winners from an extremely talented pool of candidates. We owe special thanks to all those who submitted or contributed to a nomination; the program could not thrive without you.

Over the last twelve years, the university community has embraced the spirit of the Tufts Distinction Awards. I share that enthusiasm and look forward to seeing you on June 6th.

Best wishes,

Tony Monaco

Congratulations to the inaugural David J. Kahle Award recipient:

  • Carolyn Talmadge, Tufts Technology Services

Congratulations to the individual recipients of the 2019 Tufts Distinction Award:

  • Kirsten Behling, Schools of Arts and Sciences and Engineering
  • Nicole Love Crandall, School of Medicine
  • Jackie Dejean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Alexandra Donovan, Schools of Arts and Science and Engineering
  • Kimberly Gaspie, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Halley Goldman, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
  • Kei Kawashima-Ginsberg, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life
  • Janet Kerle, School of Medicine
  • Beth Knauss, Tufts Technology Services
  • Alison LaRosa, University Advancement
  • Shirley Mark, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life
  • Kim Remillard, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Courtney Russo, School of Engineering

Congratulations to the 2019 Tufts Distinction Award team recipients:

  • Radiology Team, School of Dental Medicine
    • Jackeline Alvarado
    • Eugenia Boger
    • Xuefen Fang
    • Iolanda Gomes
    • Anita Miller
    • Maria Poy
  • Farm Team, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
    • Stephanie Bertrand
    • Scott Brundage
    • Garth Miller
    • James Phillips
  • Center for Engineering Educations & Outreach Operations Team, School of Engineering
    • Lynne Ramsey
    • Magee Shalhoub