Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

May 23, 2018

Dear Members of the Tufts Community,

It is with great pleasure that I announce the recipients of the 2018 Tufts Distinction Awards. In this eleventh year of the program, we will honor thirteen individual recipients and three teams from across the university; you will find a complete list of the winners below. This list, as well as the full list of this year’s nominees, is available on the Distinction Awards website. Please join me in congratulating all of the Distinction Awards winners, whose contributions make Tufts an exceptional place to work and learn.

I invite you to join me in recognizing these outstanding individuals and teams at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, June 12, at 11:00am. The 2018 ceremony will be held in the ASEAN Auditorium in the Cabot Center, located at 160 Packard Avenue on the Medford campus. A light buffet luncheon will follow the ceremony.

As in past years, we will offer bus service from the Grafton and Boston campuses to the Medford campus on the day of the ceremony. If you would like to reserve a seat for transportation to and from the ceremony, please RSVP by Wednesday, June 6.  Details about transportation are available at:

The Distinction Awards provide a unique occasion to recognize those individuals and teams who exemplify particularly noteworthy dedication, talent, and innovation. These awards highlight the excellence our colleagues invest into their work at Tufts enriching our entire community.

The Selection Committee received nearly 180 nominations for 90 unique individuals and 26 teams, comprising staff and faculty from across our four campuses. I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to the Committee for their commitment to the program and for their thoughtful selection of winners from an extremely talented pool of candidates. We owe special thanks to all those who submitted or contributed to a nomination; the program could not thrive without you.

Over the last eleven years, the university community has embraced the spirit of the Tufts Distinction Awards. I share that enthusiasm and look forward to seeing you on June 12th.

Best wishes,


Congratulations to the 2018 Award Recipients:

  • Noah Barrientos, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Brianna Bouchard, School of Engineering
  • Jessica Byrnes, Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life
  • Hassan Choukiah, Operations
  • Emily Condon, School of Medicine
  • Barbara Daddario, Central, Finance
  • Carol Duffey, School of Medicine
  • Claire Johnson, Office of the Provost
  • Karen Mulder, Office of the Executive Vice President
  • Kathleen Mulroy, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
  • Karen O’Hagan, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Darren Weisse, Operations, Public Safety, SMFA
  • Amelia Wilson, School of Engineering
  • Tufts at Tech Team, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
    • Jessica Grinnell
    • Pamela Houde
    • Kate Zukowski
  • International Center Team, Office of International Affairs
    • Jane Etish-Andrews, School of Arts and Sciences
    • Ghenwa Hakim, School of Medicine
    • Patrick Himes, School of Arts and Sciences
    • Reiko Ohmura, The Fletcher School of Law and Dipomacy
    • Neriliz Soto Gonzalez, School of Arts and Sciences
    • Whitney Sullivan, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Hospital Supervisors Team, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
    • Kim Anaya
    • Jeannine Archer
    • Shari Beaudry
    • Gail Berthiaume
    • Cynthia Borjes
    • Jaime Bowman
    • Rebecca Clark
    • Stephanie Cote
    • Dorothy Dawson
    • Erica Fontaine
    • Jill Franko
    • Lauren Golato
    • Karen Monahan
    • Kelly Reed
    • Geralyn Schad
    • Sara Seremet
    • Nicole Swanson
    • Claire Willey