Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

About the Mental Health Steering Committee

At Tufts, the well-being of our students—fundamental to both academic success and personal growth—is of the utmost importance. In line with national trends, in recent years we have seen a significant increase in the demand for mental health services by students across our schools.

In response to this escalating demand, and evolving student needs, in December 2016 the Task Force on Student Mental Health began a comprehensive assessment of student mental health at Tufts. Our goal was to develop actionable, evidence-based recommendations that would help the university better meet the mental health needs of our students. The Mental Health Task Force shared a report of its findings and recommendations with the Tufts University community in October 2019.

As Tufts continues to monitor utilization trends, evolving student needs, and the regulatory landscape, the university’s focus must expand to include greater attention to a coordinated holistic community health approach in supporting student mental health.

In pursuit of these efforts, in 2020, President Monaco convened a standing Student Mental Health Steering Committee designed to serve as an ongoing structure to continue the work started by the Mental Health Task Force.

2022-23 Committee Members

  • Karen Alexander, Director of Student Affairs, TUSDM
  • Jennifer Allen, Professor, Community Health, A&S
  • Kirsten Behling, Associate Dean of Student Accessibility and Academic Resources, AS&E
  • Abbie Connors, Senior Associate Director of Steward & Donor Relations, University Advancement
  • Josh Cooper, Associate Dean of Student Services, PHPD Programs/TUSM
  • Dana Fleming, Assistant General Counsel, University Counsel
  • Jeanette Sabir-Holloway, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, TUSDM
  • Michael Jordan, Executive Medical Director Occupational Health Services & University Infection Control Health Director, and Associate Professor
  • Astrid Larson A23
  • Kimberly Livingstone, Research Analyst, Office of Institutional Research
  • Camille Lizarribar, Dean of Student Affairs/Chief Student Affairs Officer, AS&E
  • Jennifer Magrone, Deputy Director, Office of Equal Opportunity
  • John Matias, Associate Dean, Admissions & Enrollment, TUSM
  • Mary McCauley, Lieutenant Detective, Public Safety/TUPD
  • Anthony Monaco, President, Tufts University, Chair
  • Aaron James Parayno, Director, Asian American Center
  • Emma Patterson MBS22, M26
  • Marty Ray, Chief of Staff, Office of the President
  • Eric Richman, Social Worker, Foster Animal Hospital, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Julie Ross, Staff Clinician and Director of Counseling and Mental Health Services
  • Natalie Rossinow A25
  • Sonya Satinsky, Executive Director of Health and Wellness
  • Andrew Shiotani, Director, International Center
  • Annie Soisson, Director, Center for the Enhancement of Learning and Teaching
  • Jennifer Stephan, Dean of Academic Advising and Undergraduate Studies, School of Engineering
  • Melissa Stevenson, Assistant Provost for Faculty Affairs, Office of the Provost
  • Cigdem Talger, Vice Provost for Education
  • Jacklyn Varela, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the President
  • The Reverend Elyse Nelson Winger, University Chaplain


Jacklyn Varela, Deputy Chief of Staff in the Office of the President provides project management support for the Steering Committee.

Updated January 2023

Counseling Resources by Campus

Boston Health Sciences Campus:
Talk One2One Counseling Service
800-756-3124 (Available 24/7)

Student Wellness Advising and Health Promotions

Grafton Campus:
Cummings Support Center
800-756-3124 (Available 24/7)

Medford/Somerville and Boston SMFA Campuses:
Counseling and Mental Health Services

Tufts has trained first responders and professional support resources available to assist with a variety of emergencies and crisis situations. Call the Tufts 24/7 Help Line at 617-627-3400 to be routed to the Counselor on Call for mental health emergencies.