Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search Open Directory Close Directory

May 21, 2015

Dear Members of the Tufts Community,

It is with great pleasure that I announce the winners of the 2015 Tufts Distinction Awards. In this eighth year of the program, we will honor 10 individual recipients and 4 teams from across the university; you will find a complete list of the winners below. (This list, as well as the full list of this year’s nominees, may also be found on the Distinction Awards website.) Please join me in congratulating all of the Distinction Awards winners, whose contributions make Tufts an exceptional place to work and learn.

The Distinction Awards provide a unique occasion to recognize those individuals and teams who exemplify particularly noteworthy dedication, talent, and innovation. I invite you to celebrate these outstanding individuals and teams at the awards ceremony on Thursday, June 11, at 10:00am. The 2015 ceremony will be held in the Behrakis Auditorium in the Jaharis Family Center, located at 150 Harrison Avenue on the Boston campus. A light buffet luncheon will follow the ceremony.

This year, the award categories and descriptions were updated to represent the evolving energy that continues to vitalize our university community. The new award categories still aim to highlight the excellence our colleagues and friends invest into their work at Tufts. The Selection Committee received nearly 150 nominations for over 50 unique individuals and teams, comprising staff and faculty from across our three campuses. The Extraordinary Colleague category in particular elicited an impressive response from nominators and you will notice a larger number of winners were named in that category to proportionally reflect the number of nominations received.

I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to the Committee for their commitment to the program and for their thoughtful selection of winners from an extremely talented pool of candidates. We owe special thanks to all those who submitted or contributed to a nomination; the program could not thrive without you.

As in past years, we will offer van service from Grafton and bus service from Medford to the Boston campus on the date of the ceremony. If you would like to reserve a seat for transportation to and from the ceremony, please RSVP by June 1st to There will also be remote viewing locations set up on the Grafton and Medford campuses so those who are unable to travel but wish to watch the ceremony can watch a live webcast. Details about transportation and remote viewing locations may be found at:

Over the last eight years, the university community has embraced the spirit of the Tufts Distinction Awards. I share that enthusiasm and hope to see you on June 11.

Best wishes,



The Agent of Innovation Award, for creating new paths to excellence.

  • Doug Bell, staff, Tufts University Art Gallery, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Penny Storey, staff, The Fletcher School

The Champion of Collaboration Award, for successfully building diverse and productive relationships across and beyond the university.

  • Julia Keller, staff, School of Engineering
  • Community-Based Dental Hygiene Team, faculty and staff, School of Dental Medicine
    • Theresa Brennan
    • Yuhong Chen
    • Brittany Colleran
    • Elaine Conroy
    • Mistie Crocker
    • Carol Daley
    • Kathryn Dolan
    • Lori Doppman
    • Maureen Favorito
    • Nancy Johnson
    • Pamela Kuhs
    • Jennifer Matlasz
    • Katherine Pelullo
    • Carol Teixeira

The Extraordinary Colleague Award, for surpassing expectations.

  • Jillian Dubman, staff, Schools of Arts and Sciences and Engineering
  • Cynthia Goddard, staff, School of Arts and Sciences
  • George Preble, staff, School of Engineering
  • Deborah Quinn, staff, School of Medicine
  • Lynne Ramsey, staff, School of Engineering
  • Elizabeth Remick, faculty, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Marcella Tanona, staff, Office of the Provost
  • Biology Department Support Staff, staff, School of Arts and Sciences
    • Michael Doire
    • Michael Grossi
    • Eileen Magnant
    • Karin Murphy
    • Liz Palmer
  • Cummings School Student Affairs Team, staff, Cummings School
    • Barbara Berman
    • Sandra Gatley
    • Nancy Horniak
    • Charlotte Hydrick
    • Lili Maselli
    • Suzanne Ukpong
  • HNRCA Physical Plant Team, staff, Facilities, Operations
    • Henry Belding
    • Thomas Carlier
    • Patrick Keefe