Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Dear Members of the Tufts Community,

It is with great pleasure that I announce the winners of the 2013 Tufts Distinction Awards. In this sixth year of the program, we will honor 13 individual recipients and two teams from across the university; you will find a complete list of the winners below. Please join me in congratulating all of the Distinction Awards winners, whose contributions make Tufts an extraordinary place to work and learn.

I also invite you to celebrate these outstanding individuals and teams at the awards ceremony on Wednesday, June 12, at 10:00am. The 2013 ceremony will be held in the Behrakis Auditorium in the Jaharis Family Center, located at 150 Harrison Avenue. A light buffet luncheon will follow the ceremony.

This has been an extraordinarily productive year at Tufts. Our staff and faculty have ensured the smooth running of the university while advancing critical strategic initiatives and responding deftly to an ever-changing external environment. I welcome the opportunity this year’s awards ceremony offers, to celebrate especially noteworthy contributions to our shared efforts.

As in past years, we will offer bus service from Medford/Somerville and van service from Grafton to Boston on the date of the ceremony. There will also be remote viewing locations set up on the Grafton and Medford/Somerville campuses so those who are unable to travel but wish to watch the ceremony can watch a live webcast. Details about transportation and remote viewing locations will be released closer to the date of the event. Please check the website for updates at

In 2013, the Distinction Awards Selection Committee received over 180 nominations for over 90 unique individuals and teams, comprising staff and faculty from across our three campuses. A full list of this year’s nominees will appear in the May/June issue of Periscope . I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to the Committee for their commitment to the program and for their thoughtful selection of winners from an extremely talented pool of candidates. We owe special thanks to all those who submitted or contributed to a nomination; the program could not thrive without you.

Over the last six years, the university community has embraced the spirit of the Tufts Distinction Awards. I share that enthusiasm and hope to see you on June 12.

Best wishes,


The Extra Mile Award, for exceptional customer service
Peter G. Boyajian, staff, School of Engineering
Ellen Mounteer, staff, School of Arts & Sciences
Regina Fisher Raboin, staff, Tisch Library
Ellen M. Sitron, staff, Health Services

The Bridge Builder Award, for bringing out the best in others
Kara Charmanski, staff, Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
Jennifer B. Hashley, staff, Friedman School of Nutrition and Science Policy
Nesly Metayer, staff, Friedman School of Nutrition and Science Policy
Tufts at Tech Veterinary Clinic, faculty, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine (Emily McCobb, John Rush, Elizabeth Rozanski, Gregory Wolfus)

The Change Agent Award, for creating new opportunities for innovation
Peter Brodeur, faculty, School of Medicine
Joseph P. McManus, staff, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Dave Nuscher, staff, University Advancement

The Unsung Hero Award, for accomplishing the extraordinary every day
Geoffrey C. Bartlett, staff, Operations—Public Safety
Rita Ortolino-Dioguardi, staff, School of Arts & Sciences
Lorin Polidora, staff, School of Engineering
Comparative Biology Unit Team, staff, Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging (Senait Assefa, Rosaline Bowen, Solgalim Diaz, Jonathan Morrison, Anthony Sealy, Don Smith, Lisa Qiao Ying Tan)